Presented by Humboldt County Department of Health & Human Services, Social Services Branch
and Humboldt State University College of eLearning and Extended Education
Child Abuse Mandated Reporter Training
Friday, October 25, 2013
This one-day training runs 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
Humboldt Bay Aquatic Center (rooms 211-212),
921 Waterfront Dr., Eureka (next to the Adorni Center)
THIS WORKSHOP IS FULL.
This course has been designed specifically for mandated reporters of child abuse. In this 7.5-hour training you will learn about the definitions and indicators of child abuse and neglect. You will find out how a mandated reporter is different from a discretionary reporter, and what is reasonable suspicion of abuse. Reporting procedures will be discussed. You will have an opportunity to discuss particular questions you have about the reporting process and will learn about the continuum of responses and services available to families after child abuse reports are made. Instructors for this course will present information from the perspective of Humboldt County Child Welfare Services.
Cara Barnes, M.A., psychology, has been a social worker in the Emergency Response Unit since 1990. She also has a pupil personnel services credential and a single subject teaching credential.
Jed Mefford is a social worker supervisor at Child Welfare Services.
This course has been designed for mandated reporters: health practitioners, including but not limited to physicians and surgeons, psychiatrists, psychologists, MFTs and interns, dentists and hygienists, residents, interns, podiatrists, chiropractors, nurses, optometrists, EMTs, paramedics; childcare custodians, including but not limited to teachers, instructional aides, child daycare workers, foster parents, youth camp employees, social workers, probation and parole officers; employees of a child protective agency; commercial film and photographic print processors; clergy; firefighters, animal control officers and humane society officers, and child visitation monitors.
This course meets the qualifications for 7.5 hours of continuing education credit for MFTs and LCSWs as required by the California Board of Behavioral Sciences. There is a $10 fee for cancellation prior to the course. There is no refund for non-attendance. Humboldt State University is a California Board of Behavioral Science approved provider of continuing education, PCE #774. Check-in is at 8:15 a.m. Workshop begins at 8:30. You must be present at the entire workshop to receive continuing education credit.
This course is being offered for academic credit for nurses. According to the Board of Registered Nursing, “Courses taken for college or university credit can be used for RN continuing education. To compute the number of units earned into contact hours, use the following formula: 1 semester unit = 15 contact hours (1/2 semester unit = 7.5 contact hours). The name of the college or university should be submitted with the renewal, rather than the provider number.”
REGISTER BY MONDAY, OCTOBER 21.
fee ..... $30 (includes lunch)
$25 additional for credit or CEUs (optional)
instr ..... Cara Barnes and Jed Mefford
course ..... REGISTER ONLINE: EENC X021, 47335
Call (707) 826-3731 to register! (VISA/MC/Discover. Please have appropriate course numbers handy.)
Print this webpageSave a PDF of this webpage