Humboldt State University
Harry S. Kieval Mathematics Scholarship

To recognize the outstanding senior mathematics major(s), the Humboldt State University Mathematics Department has established an annual scholarship of $1500 for one student or $1000 each for two students. The scholarship is made from an endowment to the University by the late Professor Emeritus Harry S. Kieval. The first award of the scholarship was made in the academic year 1983-84. Each spring nominations and applications are solicited from students who will be seniors in the coming academic year and the winners are named in the spring for the coming year.

2010/2011 Kieval Scholar: Jason McClelland

Previous Kieval Scholarship Recipients:

2009/10 Hans Parshall
2008/09 Michael Campbell
2007/08 Allen Stewart
2006/07 Amber Buntin & Billy Kittler
2005/06 Juliane O'Brien & Paul Chamberlain
2004/05 Thanh Luon & Preston Timmons
2003/04 Matt Darnall & Felix Maisch
2002/03 Jennifer Burman
2001/02 Jesse Lorton
2000/01 Abe Berman
1999/2000 Zachary Peck
1998/99 April Brown and Lisa Vossler
1997/98 Cory Irwin and Heidi Thornquist
1996/97 Sonja Manor
1995/96 Robert A. Cohen
1994/95 Guy Adams
1993/94 Rebecca Pyeatt
1992/93 David Poe and Ana Tarango
1991/92 Mary Beard
1990/91 Steven Carter
1989/90 Sean Olsen and Warren Staley
1988/89 Brad Wetmore
1987/88 Patricia Rhodes
1986/87 Karen Carter
1985/86 Susan Woodard
1984/85 Linda Castle and Paula Fries
1983/84 Adolfo Rumbos