The 30th Mu Alpha Theta Contest for 2014
will take place on

Saturday, April 19, 2014

BSS 302

9:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon

Sign up in the Math Department (BSS 320)!

The Mu Alpha Theta (Mathematics) Contest continues with its format that includes a section of shorter problems along with a section of more challenging problems. Students work on the examination for three hours on a Saturday morning, April 19th, beginning at 9 a.m.

As in the past, there are two categories distinguishing more advanced (B category) mathematics students who have completed more than one upper division mathematics course from beginning (A Category) mathematics students who have not completed more than one upper division mathematics course. The contest is organized and judged this year by Professors Jeff Haag and Martin Flashman of the HSU Mathematics Department.

Prizes in each category:

1st Prize: at least $100

2nd Prize: at least $50

3rd Prize: at least $25


In the A category (for beginning math students)

First prize $100 - Valerie Yellam

Second and Third place prizes - Not Awarded

In the B category (for advanced math students)

First prize of $75 each (tie) - Natalya Jackson, Hanqi Shao

Natalya Jackson

Second prize - Not awarded

Third prize of $25 eacy (tie) - Eric Gullufsen, Tyler Plass


Go to the list of past Mu Alpha Theta Contest Winners


Sample Problem :
Suppose x2+ y2 = z2 . Show that either x or y is divisible by 3.