Faculty and Staff

Faculty & Research Associates
Bud Burke
Phone: (707) 826-4292 • Email: rmb2@humboldt.edu
Quaternary stratigraphy, soils, geomorphology
Sue Cashman
Phone: 707 826-3114 • Email: smc1@humboldt.edu
Structural geology, tectonics
Lori Dengler
Phone: (707) 826-3115 • Email: lad1@humboldt.edu
Tsunamis, earthquakes, geophysics, natural hazard mitigation
Mark Hemphill-Haley
Phone: 707-826-3933 • Email: markhh@humboldt.edu
Neotectonics, Paleoseismology, Geologic and Seismic Hazards, Quaternary Geology, Tectonic Geomorphology
Eileen Hemphill-Haley
Phone: 707-826-3116 • Email: Eileen.Hemphill-Haley@humboldt.edu / ehhaley@gmail.com
Diatom Micropaleontology, Paleoclimatology, Paleoecology as applied to environmental studies, paleoseismology and neotectonics
Harvey M. Kelsey
Phone: 707 826-3991 • Email: hmk1@humboldt.edu
Active tectonics, Quaternary tectonics, Quaternary stratigraphy, fluvial geomorphology, sediment budgets
Robert McPherson
Phone: 707-826-5828 • Email: rm4@humboldt.edu
Seismology, seismotectonics
Melanie Michalak
Phone: 707-826-4978 • Email: mjm367@humboldt.edu
Tectonics, Geomorphology, Geochronology
William Miller
Phone: 707-826-3110 • Email: wm1@humboldt.edu
Paleontology, paleoecology
Brandon Schwab
Phone: 707-826-3950 • Email: schwab@humboldt.edu
Experimental Petrology, Mineralogy, Department Chair
Adjunct Faculty
Dave Bazard
Dave Bazard
Phone: (707) 476.4224 • Email: dave-bazard@redwoods.edu
Application of paleomagnetism to the study of tectonic processes
Alan Gillespie
Alan Gillespie
Phone: 206-685-8265 • Email: gillespie@ess.washington.edu
Glacial Geomorphology and Remote Sensing
Angela Jayko
Phone: 760 873 7040 • Email: ajayko@wmrs.edu
Regional Tectonics
Richard Koehler
Richard Koehler
Phone: 907-451-5006 • Email: richard.koehler@alaska.gov
Quaternary geology, paleoseismology, and geomorphology
Tom Lisle
Tom Lisle
Phone: (707) 822-3691 • Email: tel7001@humboldt.edu
Fluvial processes, hydrology, geomorphology
Mary Ann Madej
Mary Ann Madej
Phone: (707) 822-7611 • Email: mam2@humboldt.edu
Hillslope & fluvial processes, hydrology, geomorphology
Silvio Pezzopane
Silvio Pezzopane
Phone: • Email: spezz@earthlink.net
Neotectonics, earthquake geology, geomrphology, pluvial lakes, structural geology, hazard assessments, field studies
Carol Prentice
Phone: 650-329-5690 • Email: cprentice@usgs.gov
Paleoseismology
Leslie Reid
Leslie Reid
Phone: 707-822-2933 • Email: lmr7007@humboldt.edu
Hillslope & fluvial processes, hydrology, geomorphology
William Weaver
Phone: 707-839-5130 • Email:
Watershed Geomorphology, restoration
Robert Ziemer
Robert Ziemer
Phone: 707-825-2936 • Email: rrz7001@humboldt.edu
Hillslope & fluvial processes, hydrology, geomorphology
Emeritus Faculty
Ken Aalto
Ken Aalto
Stratigraphy, sedimentology
Gary Carver
Gary Carver
Quaternary tectonics, active faulting, geoarchaeology, geomorphology, engineering geology
G. Don Garlick
G. Don Garlick
Mineralogy, geochemistry
Andre Lehre
Andre Lehre
Geomorphology, hydrology, hillslope processes, fluvial processes
John Longshore
John Longshore
Petrology, Volcanology
Alistair McCrone
Alistair McCrone
Paleontology
Staff
Laurie Marx
Laurie Marx
Office: FH 007 • Phone: 707-826-3931 • Email: laurie.marx@humboldt.edu
Department Coordinator
Stephen Tillinghast
Stephen Tillinghast
Office: FH 007B • Phone: 707-826-3210 • Email: sft1@humboldt.edu
Technician
Colin Wingfield
Colin Wingfield
Office: VMH 108 • Phone: 707-826-4247 • Email: chw8@humboldt.edu
Stockroom Manager