background 0background 1background 2background 3


Local Admission Area

1. How has Cal Poly Humboldt defined its local admission area?

Humboldt Local Guarantee Admission Area includes public and private high school in the following regions:

Humboldt, Del Norte, Trinity and northern Mendocino Counties

2. Humboldt Local Admission Area includes high schools from one of the following counties or school districts:

Northern Humboldt, Eureka, Ferndale, Fortuna Union, Klamath-Trinity, Southern Humboldt, Fort Bragg, Leggett Valley, Laytonville, Round Valley, Willits, Del Norte, Sunset, and four school districts in Trinity: Mountain Valley, Southern Trinity, Trinity Alps and Trinity High School are considered our local admission area.

3. Who is a local admission area applicant?

Students who graduate from high school in Cal Poly Humboldt’s local Admissions area are considered local area applicants. 

4. Who is a non-local admission area applicant?

Students who graduate high school from a county or school district in California that are not identified above are considered outside of our local admission area.

5. Is there any Special Consideration for admission?

A small percentage of the freshman class may be admitted based on additional characteristics including special talents, first generation college status, socioeconomic factors, and indications of overcoming educational obstacles.

6. Is there impaction at the freshman level?

Cal Poly Humboldt is not currently an impacted campus at the freshman level.

Humboldt Local Admission for Transfers

Cal Poly Humboldt does not give preference to applicants in a Local Admissions Area.
Admissions criteria follow standard CSU transfer requirements, plus additional courses being required for applicants in the Impacted Programs.